• Start
  • Departments print
  • Materials Research print
  • News print
  • News

AvH-PostDoc Fellows and Humboldt Award Winner welcomed at IHP

AvH PostDoc Fellows and Humboldt Award Winner

Common Team: AvH PostDoc Fellows Dr. Pauline Calka (formerly Leti Grenoble, France), Dr. Inga Ulusoy (formerly Georgia Tech, USA) and Dr. Gang Niu (formerly IN Lyon, France) work together with the Humboldt Award Winner Prof. Ya-Hong Xie (UCLA, USA), Prof. Thomas Schroeder (Head of IHP Materials Research Department) and Verena Meyer (Head of IHP Human Resources). (from right to left) © IHP 2015

For several years, IHP - Innovations for High Performance Microelectronics takes advantages of fellowship programmes and acts as scientific host. Currently, supported by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (AvH), there are three scientists working with fellowships and one scientist with a Humboldt award at the Institute.

The Alexander von Humboldt (AvH) Foundation is the most renowned national partner for German research institutes and universities in the global competition for attracting talented researchers to continue their scientific careers in Germany. Thereby, in order to promote successful research collaborations, the competitive selection procedure after proposal submission evaluates not only the excellence of the candidate but also the internationally acknowledged expertise of the host institutes in the field of common research interest.


"IHP is thus more than happy to welcome over the last three years four top researchers with AvH grants" says Prof. Thomas Schroeder, head of IHP Materials Research Department and Professor in Semiconductor Physics at BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg. He acts as scientific host supported by IHP Human Resources Department. Prof. Ya-Hong Xie from University of Los Angeles (UCLA) collaborates with IHP on the basis of a Humboldt award after nomination by IHP. Dr. Inga Ulusoy, Dr. Pauline Calka as well as Dr. Gang Niu successfully applied with IHP for AvH PostDoc Fellowships.

The building and the infrastructure of the IHP were funded by the European Regional Development Fund of the European Union, funds of the Federal Government and also funds of the Federal State of Brandenburg.